Likelihood of Success

Ron Coleman’s pretty good blog

Dialogue

Posted by Ron Coleman on August 21, 2008

Teenage son (reaching for French fry):  I think this turns out to be one of the best inventions ever, huh.

Plate O.

Plate O.

Me:  What?

Teenage son:  French fries.

Me:  I guess.  Especially when you adjust for all other possible French inventions.

Teenage son:  I guess, yeah.

Me:  Thing is, it’s a little like Chinese food, you know?  When you order them, and when you first sit down with them, you can’t believe how great it’s going to be.  Then halfway through you realize you’re eating the stuff, but you’re not enjoying them at all.

Teenage son:  Yeah…

Me:  But you do keep eating them, because they are that good.  But by the time you’re down to the skinny overcooked little ones, you’re disgusted with yourself.  You don’t ever want to see another French fry.

Teenage son:  Guess you’re right.

Me:  Sometimes.  But I’m still eating them, aren’t I?

2 Responses to “Dialogue”

  1. Ara Rubyan said

    THIS is why I read your blog!

  2. jaymaster said

    I hate to disrupt the groove here. But my inner engineer requires that I point out that most folks agree “French” fries were actually invented in Belgium.

    And I’m 1.5625% to 3.125% French, and still carry a French sir name, so I’ve got nothing against the country.

    (At least not the old country)

    (And I wouldn’t normally carry that many significant digits, but with genetics, it actually makes some sense, so what the hey….)

    Just giving credit where credit is due.

Leave a Reply

 
