Likelihood of Success

Ron Coleman’s pretty good blog

Authenticity

Posted by Ron Coleman on April 7, 2008

The rose is a rose,
And was always a rose.
But now the theory goes
That the apple’s a rose,
And the pear is, and so’s
The plum, I suppose.
The dear only knows
What will next prove a rose.
You, of course, are a rose
But were always a rose.

Robert Frost — The Rose Family

3 Responses to “Authenticity”

  1. Jack said

    That poem by Frost kinda reminds me of an old story…

    One day the rose to God did say
    “Please make me red like blood today,”

    “And if you bled like blood,” said God
    “Then will this be your new facade?”

    “A new facade,” the rose implored
    “Is what I’d really like my Lord,”

    “For how is it that fancy’s bred?
    Or in the heart, or in the head?”

    “The fragrant pain of love lives on
    Within the mind of man long gone,”

    “But every rose that bleeds out red
    Reminds that man that love is fled,”

    “And yet by fleeing far away
    It flowers out with each new day,”

    “Thus when love has met her death
    She rises fresh with each new breath,”

    “To resurrect what once was lost
    And recompense the lonely cost,”

    “So God who sits the top of heaven
    Let me the heart of man to leaven,”

    “For men sometimes forget the truth
    Embroiled in life, unjust, uncouth,”

    “And as a favor I will be –
    Remind them of their pledge to thee,”

    “And to you they will look above
    When red like blood I flower love,”

    “And if by chance they forget You
    I will to heart that bleeds be true,”

    “So when that they do long return
    My blood be spilt, I can adjourn,”

    “But having done my labor’s lost
    All men to you return embossed,”

    “For love, like blood, from one Heart flows
    And every stream the sea does know,”

    “Just give me time to work my charm
    For love is slow, but she disarms,”

    “Now paint me in thy blood oh Lord,
    And I will serve but your accord.”

    So God well pleased did paint the rose
    And so the world does find her so.

  2. Kind of goyish, Jack.

  3. Jack said

    You mean like Lenny Bruce goyish, or the Groucho Marx kind?

    Yeah, sometimes, just generally speaking, I begin to suspect that modern people on the internet read such an awful lot of politics that no matter what they read they can never quite get it out of the world wide web of their preconceptions.

    Then again the Marine Corp. is definitely goyish.
    So I see your point, and nobody wants to go near that one either.

Leave a Reply

 
