Likelihood of Success

Ron Coleman’s pretty good blog

Can you see the real me?

Posted by Ron Coleman on December 25, 2007

img00131.jpgI guess I have to admit that I am basically a blogger (i.e., a writer who could not get enough paying work) who supports his habit with a day job as a better than average lawyer. I mean, who am I kidding?

UPDATE:  Hmm!

8 Responses to “Can you see the real me?”

  1. jan said

    I don’t know, can you 🙂

  2. jan said

    (Let’s try this again…)

    I don’t know, can you see me?

  3. jan said

    See? You always have to give me at least two tries to get anything right…

  4. You can have three!

  5. Jack said

    “I mean, who am I kidding?”

    You mean you’re not a better than average lawyer?
    That’s an awful long way to fall.

    But if you mean you’re a less than average writer, I’m gonna give you some advice somebody once gave me, and it works out pretty well for the most part. “Give away far less than you sell, and sell a lot more than you ever think about giving away.”

    Oh, and practice.
    Really practice.

    But practice by selling, not just practice just to practice.
    You go out to the ball field everyday and practice with a pro-ball player, that’s really nice.
    You play on the field with him, that’s money.

    The secret to being a great writer is writing to sell, not writing.
    About any old fool can write and a lot do.
    But they will never try and sell and most nobody will ever care.

    Just like nobody else will ever care if you’re the best ball player ever born, who never walks on the field.
    You wanna be a really good writer, get off the internet with your best stuff.
    Save that for somebody who will pay (and believe me somebody will pay for just about anything, even if it’s crappy).

    Anyways you’re never gonna get anywhere on this field, it’s bush league.
    Minortown. Hicksville. You might work your way up to running the hot dog stand, or calling plays in the box.
    But you won’t be a real ball player.

    Instead write something interesting, then push it at somebody who’s gotta sell something somebody else wrote to stay in business. Do it professionally and get better as you go along.

    But don’t waste your time here.
    I mean, waste your time here if you want, but if you spend three hours a day writing then spend three hours a day writing something useful, and then spend your coffee break on the internet writing internet crap. But don’t let it cut into your real work time.

    (Now being a writer I don’t think it’s the greatest thing ever, not even close, and it’s far from the only thing I’ve ever done, or ever wanted to do. But it is a job, a real one, if you want it to be, meaning you can’t work it like a hobby-horse you ride when you feel like pretending you’re the Lone Ranger. You gotta work it like you are the Lone Ranger. Meaning you gotta saddle up and ride the real trail, not the one running across the basement floor of your dreams.)

    Then again if you don’t really wanna be a writer (and I can’t say as I blame ya at all about that – there are more than likely a lot better things and a lot more important things you can do in life, and if you’re a really good writer it will be because you can tell a tale or two about the things you have done that are a lot more important than just being a writer – and for God’s sake do something more important than just tell stories about things you wish you had done, instead do them, then write about them later) then forget what I just said. Cause it’s only the internet after all, so take what I said for what it is worth. Free advice.

    Ah, who am I kidding?
    If I had any sense, you’d be paying me for that free advice.

    But since you’re a lawyer, this one’s on me.

    (This free advice should in no way be construed as constituting a formal agreement between said parties. Nor is this a solicitation to invest your time in wiring, nor should it be construed as constituting an official investment vehicle in the art or sceince of writing. Please read your prospectus carefully. Any and all real risk is assumed by the party agreeing to accept the stated value of the free information. Prior performance is no guarantee of future performance. Results may vary. Consult your doctor before agreeing to undertake any attempt at free advice on the internet.)

  6. Jack said

    “(This free advice should in no way be construed as constituting a formal agreement between said parties. Nor is this a solicitation to invest your time in writing, nor should it be construed as constituting an official investment vehicle in the art or science of writing. Please read your prospectus carefully. Any and all real risk is assumed by the party agreeing to accept the stated value of the free information. Prior performance is no guarantee of future performance. Results may vary. Consult your doctor before agreeing to undertake any attempt at free advice on the internet.)”

    Addendum: please also employ Microsoft products in your writing endeavours at your own risk.

  7. Jack, I tried being a writer — actually all but ceased practicing law for about a year. I published quite a few things — books, magazine work, other interesting stuff (some day I will list them all with links and things) — and was well on the way to complete bankruptcy before I gave up. Too late in the game. But I think this is a decent way to split the difference.

  8. Jack said

    “Jack, I tried being a writer — actually all but ceased practicing law for about a year. I published quite a few things — books, magazine work, other interesting stuff (some day I will list them all with links and things) — and was well on the way to complete bankruptcy before I gave up. Too late in the game. But I think this is a decent way to split the difference.”

    You weren’t writing enough fantasy.

Leave a Reply

 
