Likelihood of Success

Ron Coleman’s pretty good blog

To sleep, perchance to dream

Posted by Ron Coleman on December 7, 2007

But if dreams came true, oh, wouldn’t that be nice

This lyric always bounces around my head. Of course it would be nice if some dreams came true; and some do. But if they all did, then there would be nothing really to dream about, would there? That wouldn’t be nice.

And besides, some of the most pleasant dreams would be nightmares in real life.

4 Responses to “To sleep, perchance to dream”

  1. Off topic, but I got a post on my blog recently that is from a “group” that apparently supports violence against teachers on my blog. It seems too stupid to be true, but there it is, and I think it should be something people see for themselves.

  2. Since you brought the subject up:

    Last night I had a dream about John Edgar Wideman. He was giving a speech at Columbia University. It was kind of dull, I was sitting listening with some friends, drawing doodles in the margins of my notebook, when a shot rang out and Wideman fell to the floor. He was holding his shoulder, bleeding. I said ‘I’ll call 9-1-1″ but his assistant said “No, don’t!”

    I said “Why?” Wideman whispered to her and she said “He doesn’t want a bunch of whitey cops and doctors harassing his ass”

    I took out my cellphone and dialled 9-1-1 anyway, and his assistant shouted that I was racist Republican who didn’t have the proper respect for Wideman’s feelings…

    I don’t know why I dreamed about Wideman. The last thing I read by him was an article published in the NYT book review, years ago.

  3. Wow — political dreams. Mary, my dreams are more like goulash.

  4. soccer dad said

    And besides, some of the most pleasant dreams would be nightmares in real life.
    reminded me of the genie story.

Leave a Reply

 
