Likelihood of Success

Ron Coleman’s pretty good blog

The ultimate dhimmi

Posted by Ron Coleman on September 8, 2007

The Forward:  “Top Reform Rabbi Gives Watershed Address to Largest U.S. Muslim Group”:

At the 44th annual conference of Chicago’s Islamic Society of North America last Friday, Rabbi Eric Yoffie, president of the Union for Reform Judaism, called for an end to discrimination against Muslims, more dialogue between religions, and for Jews and Muslims to unite in support of a two-state solution to the Israeli-Palestinian conflict.

Boy, he really went into a den of lions with that aggressive tack, huh.

How pathetic.  More from the article:

“Here is another discredited group eager for mainstream recognition,” [executive director of the American Jewish Committee David] Harris wrote in a blog on the Web site of The Jerusalem Post. “Inadvertently, in the name of inter-religious dialogue, he gave it.”

I have to admit, when I first read this I was certain the “discredited group eager for mainstream recognition” he was referring to was the Reform Movement.  But no such luck.

3 Responses to “The ultimate dhimmi”

  1. Bill Dooley said

    >the Reform Movement

    I was born and raised Catholic, so I’m a bit fuzzy on differences within Judaism. I do take some comfort in thinking that, whatever their differences, they’re not prone to running down my street trying to kill me. That doesn’t seem to be a Jewish thing.

    I grew up in Jersey City, across the Hudson from Manhattan. Jews figure prominently there, but somehow I never felt endangered. Regrettably, they tend to be Communist, but nonviolent, I’ll give them that.

  2. Bill Dooley said

    And by the way, despite my origin in New Jersey, I spent many wondrous days in Manhattan. If you can manage it, do visit.

    I’m there almost every day, Bill! — RDC

  3. Bill, the Reform Movement is the main representative of the most liberal wing of Jewish religious expression. It is made of up some percentage of Jews and some percentage of non-Jewish spouses of Jews and their children. It has more to do with Unitarianism or, these days, something rather antithetical to religion, than anything recognizable as Judaism before the 20th century.

Leave a Reply

 
