Likelihood of Success

Ron Coleman’s pretty good blog

The sound of one hand napping

Posted by Ron Coleman on September 5, 2007

Sam Brownback went to New Hampshire, where no one noticed.

Maybe the Senator himself will notice.

I think he’s a good man. Had dinner with him and a few friends in New York once. But presidential-wise, this is not happening, at least not soon.

It’s easy to make fun of people who try to achieve something and fail. We do it all the time with politicians; I do it, too, I guess, though not usually for failures in this vein. I am sure Sam Brownback does not want our pity, either.

It’s character-building, though, and Brownback already has plenty of that. So it’s time to go home.

UPDATE (bumped up):  The Brownback campaign kind of fires back.  I mean, they emailed me this link.  Me.  That has to hurt.

UPDATE: On the other hand, I don’t know. Maybe some people — yes, like Larry Craig — just bring mockery on themselves.

One Response to “The sound of one hand napping”

  1. jaymaster said

    I think the claim by the Brownbacker folks that the photo is “highly misleading and false” and “disingenuous” is a bit over the top. Maybe they’re a bit overly sensitive with the topic…..

    They say about 50 people attended, moving in and out over time. I counted 13 people in the photo, which would seem to be fairly representative of an overall 50 person crowd at any single point in time.

    I also suspect this is the most I will ever write about Brownback, at least for the foreseeable future. Unless he gets busted in a bathroom stall or something. And in a way, that’s kind of sad too.

Leave a Reply

 
