Likelihood of Success

Ron Coleman’s pretty good blog

Coming up for air

Posted by Ron Coleman on August 18, 2007

The Stout Republican is waiting for Fred Thompson to fish, or cut bait: “[Y]ou’ve toyed with me enough Fred.”

There’ll be more of this. If Fred gets the nomination, I’ll support him over almost anyone I can imagine heading the Democratic ticket. But I can’t take him seriously at this point.

UPDATE:  It’s getting trickier, too.

5 Responses to “Coming up for air”

  1. jaymaster said

    Giuliani/Thompson.

    As John Lovett would say,

    That’s the ticket!

  2. I’m with you on this one. I love the idea of Fred, and I like the fact he’s as straight talking as he is, which gives him major points over other politicians…however…this delay is starting to get to me. He’s been saying he’s getting into the race for far too long, and I’m starting to wonder (to pull the classic “I question the motivations”) if there’s a reason that he’s avoiding these early debates. Call me cynical, but everyone seems more excited about Fred! than Fred does himself.

    Thompson/Romney

    Take that Jaymaster!!!!!! (j/k)

  3. jaymaster said

    Well Stout,

    From a purely ideological point of view, I would have no problem with a Thompson/Romney ticket. That’s assuming Fred turns out to be the candidate I think he is (still a bit of a clean slate/chameleon, IMO).

    But from a “winning the general election” point of view, I give it to Giuliani hands down. I think he could deliver a decent chunk of the North East, and that would be huge. And Fred could pull along the South and the more traditional conservatives around the country.

    Yes, there are some things about Rudy that I just don’t like, and some that kind of worry me. But I would much, MUCH rather have him in the White House than anyone the Dems are putting forth. So he’s my man.

  4. I agree. I’m not of the illconceived notion that I’ll have a candidate I 100% agree with. I’d rather have a Giuliani in office than any Democrat, so if he gets up there…he’ll have my support.

  5. Time unleashes attack poodle

    The inevitability — sorry, Fred fans — of Rudy Giuliani being more apparent, Time magazine has begun its attempt at softening him up for Hillary….

Leave a Reply

 
