Likelihood of Success

Ron Coleman’s pretty good blog

Best newish blog?

Posted by Ron Coleman on April 12, 2007

161px-marvinhamlisch.jpgI got nominated for an award for best new Jewish blog. That’s good, right?

I mean, I guess it was obvious, huh? I try to fit in with all the other fellows… Princeton, Northwestern, and how much more pareve neutral of a name can you have than “Ronald Coleman” (ignore the middle name)? Hardly Jewish sounding. But I guess it comes out somehow.

I guess I am conflicted a little. I’m Jewish, yes, but is my blog… Jewish? Now that this is out, is my blog not going to be able to get into the better co-ops on Park Avenue or the New York Athletic Club?

Still, while it’s not as nice as a medical degree from Harvard or a summer place in the Hamptons, I’m honored just to be nominated. Voting will be some day in the future.

And then, of course, the inevitable letdown. This blog, really, will always be a disappointment to me.

No, really, it’s okay. Here, eat something.

11 Responses to “Best newish blog?”

  1. craig mclaughlin said

    I thought you were good in “The Prisoner of Zenda.”

  2. Gwedd said

    Ron,

    So like, what’s in a name? I mean, really? Why worry about it? Why not just take off for Miami for awhile. Go to Florida! I hear it’s nice this time of year.

    Such a nice boy… such a good writer. I mean, he’s not a doctor, you know? But he can WRITE!

    Oh sorry…. naw. I like this blog. I’m glad I discovered it. Good writing, and if a Pagan and a Jew can’t get along, I mean, then who really can?

    Respects,

  3. That was my reaction even before I read the post. Yes, you’re Jewish. That’s obvious to anyone who reads you for just a little while. But your blog seems to be just, well, a blog. A good one, but a blog. I don’t see where it has any particular Jewish theme, just because you happen (unavoidably enough) to write with a Jewish perspective.

    But what the heck… Publicity is publicity, as long as they spell your URL right…

  4. Ezzie said

    Heh. Just as a note, the JIBs are designed for Jewish and Israeli blogs – regardless of how “Jewish” or “Israeli” the blogs are. This way, it includes personal, political, and other types of blogs by Jews even if they are not “Jewish” in theme. Welcome to the JIBs, enjoy, and good luck!

  5. Thanks Ezzie!

  6. […] but not entirely, randomly, I chose Comedy Genius Mel Brooks, who schmaltzes along in something that looks like retirement, Musical […]

  7. […] because I’m a lawyer.  It’s just the same as how I didn’t know this was a “Jewish blog” just because I’m a, you know — a […]

  8. […] I find the idea of electioneering in the these things distasteful. […]

  9. […] Comments LIKELIHOOD OF CONFUSION® » Blog Archive » Vote already on Best newish blog?Ron Coleman on The language Hillary Clinton understandsRon Coleman on The Truth […]

  10. My children are ashemed of me

    Well, they will be, if you people, and all your relatives and people who owe you money, don’t start voting in the 2007 Weblog Awards for Best Law Blog.

  11. […] I find the idea of electioneering in the these things unpleasant. […]

Leave a Reply

 
