Likelihood of Success

Ron Coleman’s pretty good blog

You mean after the attorneys buy new houses?

Posted by Ron Coleman on March 15, 2007

Robert Scoble asks, “What happens after Google loses?”:

Viacom wants to play “force folks to play on our turf.” Does the Internet reward that kind of behavior?

It hasn’t in the past. PodTech tried that strategy. To watch my videos you used to have to go to PodTech. Then in January we let go a little bit of our controlling attitude and made a player that you can embed on your own site. What happened?

Traffic tripled.

So, if I were a smart content guy (hint, I’m not) I’d be opening my video archives and saying “post them where you want.”

If I were even smarter I’d say “cut them up, edit them, mash them, do what you want with them.” I’m not that smart either.

And, if I really were blessed with a brain like Douglas Engelbart’s I’d make video for where the big audiences are (hint: it’s YouTube, StumbleUpon, Digg, Flickr, Blogs, and search engines like Google/Yahoo/Live).

I’m not that smart, but other people in this industry are.

Does the technology stream really flow into the revenue stream, though? I understand that YouTube made a lot of money — well, by selling itself; I am not sure I understand how it actually makes money as a business — but I haven’t heard of too many people getting too rich by uploading their content onto YouTube. Have you?

Cross posted on Likelihood of Confusion, where I addressed the Viacom-Google lawsuit here.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

